6) Calle 13: Violence, Resistance, and Independence

In “Digo Lo Que Pienso”, Residente once again emphasises his lyrical independence, highlighting how he doesn’t need to resort to violence to bring his opponents crashing down to earth. In particular, he calls the mayor of San Juan, Jorge Santini, a corrupt drug addict with the face of an idiot and a scared drug dealer.

“Tengo del respeto que no se compra con plata             (I get the kind of respect that money can’t buy)
Soy un tipo decente sin tener que usar corbata”             (I’m a decent guy without having to wear a tie)

“Siempre digo lo que pienso                               (I always say what’s on my mind)
Mis letras groseras son                                        (And even the violent or rude words I use,)

Más educadas que tu silencio”                          (Are more polite than your silence!)

“Aquí no hay armas,           
                                (I play it smart, you’ll find no weapons on me)

Yo me la juego inteligente…
Con dos palabras puedo                                     (With just two words I can knock out)

Tumbarte un par de dientes…                            (A couple of your teeth)
Cuando quiero decir algo                                   (When I want to say something)

Lo digo de frente…                                               (It’ll be to your face)
Dejar de hablar no combina                               (Being brave and silent can’t share a place!)

Con gente valiente…”

“Los problemas no se dan por sentado            (Problems can’t just be left to rot in their juices)
Y más cuando hay abusos                                  (Especially when the State’s the one…)

De parte del estado                                              (Committing the abuses)
Sería muy fácil para mí                                        (It’d be very easy for me)

Escribir un bolero                                                  (To write a bolero)
O hacer un video rapeando                                (Or film a rap on a yacht for a video)

Encima de un velero
Con mujeres en pelotas                                       (With nude women carressing my d*ck)

Acariciándome los huevos
Sacrificar mis ideales                                            (Sacrificing my ideals to sell you a new disc)

Pa’ venderte un disco nuevo…”

“No se puede escribir sobre el dolor  (You can’t write about pain)
Cuando se escribe con miedo                             (If you write with fear)
Conformarse y dejar de insistir                           (Conforming and ceasing to insist)
Es como ver a alguien                                          (Is like seeing someone choke or drown)

Ahogándose y dejarlo morir”                             (And letting them die)

“Yo soy el que te recuerda                                   (I’m the one reminding you)

Cómo estamos de jodidos                                   (How fucked up things are)
Y que todos tus problemas                 (And that your problems)

Pueden ser como los míos                                   (Might be just the same as mine)
Yo soy todo lo que tú escondes                          (I’m everything you hide)
Soy el que esta pa’ ti,                                           (I’m the one that’s here for you)

Dime cómo cuándo y dónde”                             (Just tell me when and where!)

 

Another example of Residente’s stance on violence comes in “La Crema”, in which he says:

 

“Mi mente corre como corbeta                                           (My mind runs like a corvette)

Por eso yo no me tengo que ir a las galletas   (So I don’t have to use my fists)

Para rajarte el melón uso mi libreta                  (To blow your mind I use my notebook)

El micrófono es mi metralleta”                                           (The microphone is my machine gun)

 

Digo lo que pienso – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bUS78wR8RlA

La Crema – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkFC95KMCgc

About Ed Sykes

Independent journalist. Co-founder of Phoenix Media Co-operative. Author of Rojava: An Alternative. Ex-Canary editor and writer (2015-2020). Aka 'Oso Sabio' - see @ososabiouk on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 6) Calle 13: Violence, Resistance, and Independence

  1. Pingback: LA POR (EL MIEDO) | HOY YO CRITICO

  2. Pingback: Calle 13: The Ayotzinapa Case Is a Disgrace | Resistance Is Fertile

Leave a comment